French Life: Toulouse Tuesday

Coffee Time

Even after all this time living in France there is one thing I cannot get my head around… The tiny coffee!

IMG_20160905_154421.jpg

Last year during my final semester in college I couldn’t go without my daily cappuccino. It became nearly a ritual, every morning after starting my studies I would reward myself with a nice big cup of coffee. With a price tag of less than €2 it was an indulgence I had no reason to give up.

That is until now.

To get a full (Irish/English/American etc) size cappuccino in France you’re lucky if you can find one for less than €4.50. That’s if you can even find one, apart from the chains like Starbucks you’ll be hard pressed to find anything more than an espresso in most places.

(Helpful hint: if you order a café it’s an espresso, a café allongé is more like an Americano (don’t order an Americano they’ll charge you tourist prices ;))

However,  I have been on a quest in Toulouse to find the best coffee replacement and its been a pretty good journey. I already have a favourite café – Café Den- it does every type of coffee, cappuccino, frappuncino and at pretty good prices. My go to coffee is a café au lait, I just need milk in my coffee, and unlike in Ireland you won’t be offered cold milk to add to your hot coffee.

img_20161006_201944

(I’ll have to do another post on the best sweet treats in Toulouse :p)

Check out the foam on this cappuccino from cafe Den… They offered whipped cream or foam I chose the foam and wow there was foam!

img_20161107_205118

I found the cutest take away coffee bar in Carmes which does high quality cappuccinos, they are small, very small but great coffee.

IMG_20160917_190847.jpg

My search continues and while I’m trying to stay away from Starbucks and keep it French I’m afraid I may crack in this cold weather.

Bisous
Yvonne

Leave a Reply

