5 things no one tells you about finishing University

This day marks one year since I received my final exam results marking the end of four years of college. I moved to France and had no clue what I was doing next. 12 months on I have learned some truths.

Final year of university is tough, really tough and the thoughts of finally being free and finished gets you through those long days of study. There’s a certain euphoria after finishing that last exam, your life can start, you are an adult, there’s no stopping you. That’s true for some but in reality so many people finish college and have no clue what’s next. Here’s 5 truths I have learned since graduating.

received_10202355779132558

1. Most people don’t have a plan

When I finished law I thought everyone had their life planned, that all were going to do the FE1s (Irish law exams) and become lawyers. Boy was I wrong! Out of my group of closest friends two did these exams, two did a Masters, I moved to France and the others in my class went into every avenue possible. I don’t think any of us actually planned these paths years in advance we all kind ‘fell into’ what we ended up doing.

2. There’s no defined path

Just because you do a certain course doesn’t mean you have to be a certain thing. Your undergrad doesn’t define your future career path. From Masters and graduate programmes to conversion courses and gap years the possibilities are endless. Don’t be afraid ‘to take the path less taken’. I read something recently that stuck with me – just because you spent 4 years studying something doesn’t mean you have to spend forty years working in that area.

3. No one cares what you do next

As Doireann Garihy (Irish snapchatter and radio presenter) always says ‘No one gives a f*** about you’. What I have taken from this is that you shouldn’t care what people think about you because… They’re not thinking about you! Of course your friends and family care but they only want what’s best for you.

4. Only you can decide what you should do next

All that matters is that you are happy with what you are doing, or what you plan to do. However once you finish college it’s up to you to decide what’s happens next. Before university your parents could help, during university your college could provide support services but after.. You’re not on your own but.. You kind of are.

5. It’s tough but it’s not impossible

Some people make it seem like leaving university is absolutely terrifying especially if you haven’t got a concrete plan in place. What they don’t tell you is that it’s actually exciting, for the first time in your life no one is telling you what you have to do. It’s the first September that you don’t ‘have’ to do anything! That freedom to choose is a change. Of course it can be scary but it’s liberating too.

If you’re a final year student just finished exams and waiting for results and have no plan what to do next, stop worrying! No one really knows what they are going to do next. You aren’t alone and you will figure it out eventually. Stop putting pressure on yourself and just take a step back. There’s nothing you have to do but there’s lots you can do. You can do more study – a masters, post grad, a conversion course etc. You can do a graduate programme or an internship – within the area you studied or even a completely new area. You can start working – in a 9-5, or something temporary. Or you can take a gap year – if that’s what your thinking of check out my earlier post on why I think it’s a great option that more people should consider. Whatever you decide remember you’re still young, there’s no need to rush into something you will grow to hate.

What advice would you give to someone just finishing college/ university? Is there anything you have learned about since graduating that you wish you knew then?

As always I’d love to hear from you. Sharing honest advice is so helpful especially to those in a situation where they feel that they are the only one without a plan.

6 thoughts on “5 things no one tells you about finishing University

    • indieandlily says:

      It’s definitely good to know these things before you even start university and they apply when you’re finishing school too 😊 thanks for your lovely comment, have a great day!

      Like

  1. Expat Panda says:

    I remember finishing my degree and wondering what’s next? When I saw an ad online for teaching in Korea, I said why not? But I had no interest in teaching, no degree in teaching and certainly knew nothing about Korea. But I went along with it and eventually it turned to be the best thing I’ve ever done, kicking off my passion for travel and education. It’s true that there is no path and that people often fall into what they’re meant to be doing… loved this post and totally related!

    Liked by 1 person

    • indieandlily says:

      That sounds so amazing!! I have a TEFL certificate but haven’t been brave enough to do anything that exciting with it yet. It’s so inspiring to hear that you took a risk and it paid off so well 💜

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lisa B says:

    I wish I had read this when I was finishing my undergrad last year! I totally agree with your advice, now in hindsight 😉 I read somewhere once that ‘no one cares about you as much as you do’ and it’s so true- we think our actions are so important to everyone else but they’re not really bothered, they’re getting on with their own things!
    Good luck with what comes next for you!
    Lisa x
    http://www.whatlisadidnext.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • indieandlily says:

      I wish I had known this last year too! Let’s hope someone who comes across this advice earlier than we did 😂 that is so true! We are too conscious of what others think of us when in reality they are not, realising this has helped me lot. Thanks Lisa 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

